The Jeffco Honor Roll for 2014-2015

 Support Jeffco Kids Presents

 The Jeffco Honor Roll (2014-2015)

Teachers, Staff, and Schools in the Jeffco School District who have been recognized for great work over the past two years:

 Teachers & Staff

Milken Educator Award recipient – Jose Martinez III, teacher at Bear Creek High School

November 13, 2014 by the Milken Family Foundation.  Mr. Martinez is one of just 35 teachers nationwide, and the only one in Colorado, to earn the honor in 2013.

Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching – Carrie Jordan state finalist status as one of four Colorado teachers moving forward to the national finals for.  Ms. Jordan is a 4th grade teacher at Normandy Elementary. Nov 6, 2014

Amgen Science Teaching Excellence AwardSuzanne McClung Lakewood High School science teacher

Ms. McClung was one of only nine educators nationwide to receive this acknowledgement and received a $10,000 award.

2014 Outstanding Secondary Social Studies Teacher of the Year by the National Council of Social Studies Teachers –  Sara Shackett Lakewood High School social studies teacher

Williams College’s annual George Olmsted, Jr. Class of 1924 Prize for Excellence in Secondary School Teaching – Stephanie Rossi, social studies teacher at Wheat Ridge High School.  Ms. Rossi is one of four high school teachers nationally to receive the award.

John McDonald, Executive Director of Safety, Security and Emergency Planning was given Jeffco PTA’s highest honor, The Kyffin Award.

2015 Colorado History Teacher of the Year by the Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History – Deb Marshall, Coronado Elementary teacher (June 11, 2015)

Colorado’s 2015 Outstanding High School Physical Science Teacher – Dr. Tom Bindel, chemistry teacher at Pomona High School – by the Colorado Association of Science Teachers.

Colorado’s Middle School Physical Education Teacher of the Year – Allyn Atadero, Teacher at Falcon Bluffs M.S.

2014 Colorado Elementary/Middle School Theater Educator of the Year – Anthony Bruno Falcon Bluffs Middle.  Aug 28 2014

2015 Highly Effective School Library Program (HESLP) Award from the Colorado Department of Education for an exemplary school library program.  The HESLP is a competitive, distinguished award and Jeffco is well-represented at the state level with 25 digital teacher librarians (DTLs) who are currently CDE Highly Effective School Library Program award winners

Janine Singer-Kowalsky/Falcon Bluffs Middle School

Suzanne Covington/Kyffin Elementary

Natalie Schiele, Rooney Ranch Elementary


2015 Teacher/Coach of the Year (Colorado High School Coaches Association’s Dale Yost Award) – Clint Boston, Green Mountain High School social studies teacher and head cross country and assistant track coach

5A Athletic Director of the Year Award – Matt Heckel, assistant principal-athletic director at Dakota Ridge High School (June 5,2014)

Athletic Director of the Year – Jerry McWhorter, assistant principal-athletic director at D’Evelyn High School, (June 5,2014)

2014 Advisor Mentor at the national leadership conference for the Family, Career and Community Leaders of America – Malissa Sloan, family and consumer sciences teacher at Standley Lake High School Aug 28 2014

School Nutrition Association winner – Executive Chef Yuri Sanow. His recipe will be used throughout the country on school lunch menus this coming year. Aug 28 2014

Jeffco school bus drivers recognized as ‘outstanding contributors’ from each of the district’s area Transportation offices: Paul Seyfang/South, Greg Spence/Central, Selina Calleja/West, and Mariena Millison/North. Apr 2, 2015

Colorado’s Education Support Professional (ESP) of the Year & National Education Association’s ESP of the Year award nominee – Ann Benninghoff, parapro at Dutch Creek Elementary

National Board Certification for Principals pilot program – Troy Braley, Brady Exploration School Principal. As one of three participating Colorado principals in a program of 1200 nationwide, Mr. Braley was one of the under 270 principals who completed the three-year program.

National High School Football Field of the Year awarded to Jeffco Schools’ North Area Athletic Complex management and staff for achieving the highest recognition sports fields can receive by earning the from the Sports Turf Managers Association  Jan 14, 2015

Wayne Carle Awards for outstanding contributions to diversity, inclusion and equity in Jeffco Public Schools. The awards are named after retired Jeffco Superintendent, Dr. Wayne Carle, and reflect Jeffco’s commitment to promoting cultural understanding and respect. (May 7, 2015)

  • Administrator: Amy Novotny, principal/director of the Rocky Mountain Deaf School
  • Licensed Staff: Erlinda Kramer, reading interventionist at Stein Elementary & Jody Slavick, dual language coach at Molholm Elementary
  • Classified Staff: Sam Myers, transition community educational assistant at Columbine High School
  • Community Partner: Sheila Sears, deputy director of Colorado Creative Industries, Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade


Jeffco Schools


2015 Newsweek’s Top 500 D’Evelyn Junior/Senior High, Jefferson Academy Secondary – Sept. 3,2015

2015 National Blue Ribbon School of ExcellenceEvergreen High School Dec 10, 2015

The Blue Ribbon Award is the highest national award a school can earn. Schools are nominated based on high academic performance over a five year period. This is the second time (2007) EHS has won this award

National PTA School of Excellence.  –  The Schools of Excellence certification program started in 2003 and was revamped for the 2013/2014 school year.  When PTAs, parents, and schools have great partnerships, the educational experience and overall well-being for all students is deeply enriched.

Colorado’s 2A state band championD’Evelyn Jr./Sr. High School band for its 5th straight year


Congratulations and Thank you!



Jeffco Honor Roll 2014-15