Tag Archives: Senator Andy Kerr

2017 Jeffco PTA Spring Fling

We try to go everywhere to celebrate our Jeffco Schools and engage others in our community.

One of our favorites, Jeffco PTA, has an annual Spring Fling event where awards and scholarships are given. It’s truly an event of celebration honoring our students and educators.

For the 2017 event, we were delighted to have been given a heads up about this years’ Kyffin Award recipient by President Liz Rowland. The Kyffin Award honors a member of the community for “outstanding contributions to children, youth and community in Jefferson County.”

Senator Andy Kerr was awarded the Kyffin this year and we couldn’t agree more with our Jeffco PTA on this selection!

The award has been given since 1970 and includes several amazing individuals in our Jeffco Schools community. Just a few past Kyffin honorees include:

  • Anton Delgado (2016)
  • John McDonald (2015)
  • Dr. Cindy Stevenson (2014)
  • Kelly Johnson & Jonna Levine (2013)
  • Michelle Winzent (2012)
  • Kerrie Dallman (2011)
  • Nancy McCanless (2010)
  • Mona Sandoval (2009)
  • Lynn Huizing (2008)
  • Debby Oberbeck (2007)
  • Evie Hudak (2006)
  • Marta Murray (2004)

The Jeffco PTA Crystal Apple Award went to Diane Kanagy of Wilmot Elementary. Principal Matt Cormier raved about this educator and had most of the room in tears sharing his passion about her talent and how she truly Supports Jeffco Kids!

Several students were awarded scholarships, thanks to the hard work of Jeffco PTA volunteers and donations. Please join PTA and make a donation to the scholarship program! https://www.cheddarup.com/tabs/jefferson-county-council-pta-dues

Congratulations to these amazing students!

  • David Mitchell, Ralston Valley High School
  • Nicholas Glaston, Arvada High School
  • Mehul Patel, Lakewood High School

Thanks to our Jeffco PTA for their efforts in recognizing students and educators! We look forward to the 2018 Spring Fling!