From SJK, In the Interest of Transparency

Support Jeffco Kids has requested an OPEN community forum regarding the plans for facilities.  We welcome others to join us in this call for a community forum by using the emails in our letter below.

February 17, 2015
 
To:
Jeffco Board of Education:
Julie Williams  juwillia@jeffco.k12.co.us 
Les Dahlkemper  ldahlkem@jeffco.k12.co.us
 
Jeffco Superintendent McMinimee  dmcminim@jeffco.k12.co.us
Jeffco C.O.O. Steve Bell  stbell@jeffco.k12.co.us
 
Arvada City Manager M. Deven   mdeven@arvada.org
Arvada City Council
Mayor M. Williams mwilliams@arvada.org
City Council members:
M. McGoff  mmcgoff@arvada.org
J. Marriott  jmarriott@arvada.org
J. Marks  jmarks@arvada.org
D. Allard  dallard@arvada.org
B. Fifer  bfifer@arvada.org
B. Dyer  bdyer@arvada.org
  
 
In the interest of transparency, accountability, and open community engagement; and on behalf of the students and their families, potential Arvada homeowners, and the taxpayers of Jefferson County, especially those residents of the Northwest corridor of Jefferson County, Support Jeffco Kids is requesting an open community forum in the Northwest Arvada area to share information on how the new growth will impact our public schools and our community in this area.  We understand district staff has met with parents from Westwoods Elementary and Meiklejohn Elementary, but we believe there needs to be more open dialogue inclusive of the community members as well as parents in nearby schools impacted by the growth and district decisions.
 
 
It is important the community have an opportunity to hear directly from district leadership about what options are seriously being considered; when the board will make a decision; and what the board will base their decision on.  To allow for full disclosure, this process needs to allow for questions from parents and residents to board members, district leadership, and Arvada city officials.  
 
 
Support Jeffco Kids
Shawna Fritzler & Jonna Levine
Co-Chairs