Contact Your Legislators!

We hope our Legislators are listening.

We want to be loud and clear.  Just because the education community has not stormed the State Capitol with pitchforks and torches doesn’t mean we don’t expect them to do the morally and ethically right thing by our students and schools.

We are hearing from legislators, citing no outcry from the education community for the need for the $100 million buy down of the BS Factor proposed by the Governor’s budget, that a deal is being made with the House and Senate Republicans to direct these funds to Transportation, instead.

We hope our Legislators are listening.

When on February 7th, the superintendents of our state came together as one voice to talk about the work they had put into HB 1232, the modernized superintendents’ formula for school finance, they began their announcement with a plea to our representatives at the Capitol to support the Governor’s proposed budget providing additional funds to our schools THIS year.

The Superintendent of Englewood Public Schools, Wendy Rubin, began her speech February 7th  by asking our state legislature to approve the $110 million budget supplemental for distribution to our schools today. She implored them to approve Governor Hickenlooper’s proposed a budget that would buy down the $828 million debt owed to Colorado schools by $100 million and would dedicate $30 million to our rural schools. She went on to point out the urgency for addressing school funding now:

  • …a growing teacher shortage crisis
  • 95% of teachers in rural districts that don’t make enough salary to meet the cost of living
  • More school districts are looking to institute 4-day school weeks…we have half of the school districts in Colorado with one or more schools on a 4-day week…”

We hope our Legislators are listening.

Because nothing has changed.   We absolutely support HB 1232 – that’s for the future.  But let’s talk about NOW – this year.  

Our local school districts are in the process of having school budget conversations with their respective communities.   A vital piece of this conversation depends on whether or not the Legislature approves the Governor’s budget and allows for the $100 M buy down of the BS Factor (Budget Stabilization Factor, aka Negative Factor, which is currently $830 million owed to our schools and students).

We are hearing from legislators, citing no outcry from the education community for the need for these dollars, that a deal is being made with the House and Senate Republicans to direct these funds to Transportation, instead.   

These are funds owed to our schools since 2010, when legislators raided education funds provided by Amendment 23.

We appreciate the need to fund Transportation, but this truly isn’t much different than what was done in 2010.  Once again, the Legislature will raid education funds to pay for other expenses they don’t have the backbone to raise taxes to support.

Our legislature is looking to fund transportation on the backs of our state’s children, if we don’t make it clear to them now, via emails, phone calls, letters, rallys, and lobby days at the Capitol.  As always, the education community – parents, educators – will be forced to fight for this funding, fight for our kids and our schools. Sadly, our Legislature just can’t seem to find their way to do the right thing on their own.

In Jeffco, the Governor’s budget proposal would provide an additional $30 million to our Jeffco budget.  Because this is part of the Amendment 23 dollars owed our students, these would be on-going funds – NOT one time funding.  

In our school communities, our parents and educators are having budget conversations  around funding for security and safety in our schools, trying to add more teachers, providing for more professional development for our teachers, reading interventions, career pathways enhancements – none of which can be a reality without this funding.

So, warriors of public education, we are asking you to once again pick up the fight where it seems like we never left off.  Please join us in contacting your respective House Representatives and Senators today, and tomorrow, and again next week – until they can guarantee us They Are Listening.

 

First Name Last Name Email Phone
Jeni James Arndt jeni.arndt.house@state.co.us 303-866-2917
Jon Becker J. jon.becker.house@state.co.us 303-866-3706
KC Becker K. kcbecker.house@state.co.us 303-866-2578
Susan Beckman susan.beckman.house@state.co.us 303-866-2953
Adrienne Benavidez adrienne.benavidez.house@state.co.us 303-866-2964
Jeff Bridges jeff.bridges.house@state.co.us 303-866-2921
Perry Buck perrybuck49@gmail.com 303-866-2907
Janet Buckner janet.buckner.house@state.co.us 303-866-2944
Terri Carver terri.carver.house@state.co.us 303-866-2191
Marc Catlin marc.catlin.house@state.co.us 303-866-2955
James Coleman james.coleman.house@state.co.us 303-866-2909
Phil Covarrubias Phil.Covarrubias.house@state.co.us 303-866-2912
Jessie Danielson jessie.danielson.house@state.co.us 303-866-5522
Crisanta Duran crisanta.duran.house@state.co.us 303-866-2925
Daneya Esgar daneya.esgar.house@state.co.us 303-866-2968
Justin Everett justin.everett.house@state.co.us 303-866-2927
Tony Exum tony.exum.house@state.co.us 303-866-3069
Mike Foote mike.foote.house@state.co.us 303-866-2920
Alec Garnett alec.garnett.house@state.co.us 303-866-2911
Joann Ginal joannginal@yahoo.com 303-866-4569
Matt Gray matt@matthewgray.us 303-866-4667
Millie Hamner rephamner@gmail.com 303-866-2952
Chris Hansen chris.hansen.house@state.co.us 303-866-2967
Leslie Herod leslie.herod.house@state.co.us 303-866-2959
Edie Hooton edie.hooton.house@state.co.us 303-866-2915
Stephen Humphrey rephumphrey48@yahoo.com 303-866-2943
Dominique Jackson dominique.jackson.house@state.co.us 303-866-3911
Chris Kennedy chris.kennedy.house@state.co.us 303-866-2951
Tracy Kraft-Tharp reptracy29@gmail.com 303-866-2950
Lois Landgraf lois.landgraf.house@state.co.us 303-866-2946
Polly Lawrence polly.lawrence.house@state.co.us 303-866-2935
Pete Lee pete.lee.house@state.co.us 303-866-2932
Timothy Leonard tim.leonard.house@state.co.us 303-866-2582
Kimmi Lewis kimmi.lewis.house@state.co.us 303-866-2398
Larry Liston larry.liston.house@state.co.us 303-866-2937
Susan Lontine susan.lontine.house@state.co.us 303-866-2966
Paul Lundeen paul.lundeen.house@state.co.us 303-866-2924
Hugh McKean hugh.mckean.house@state.co.us 303-866-2947
Barbara McLachlan barbara.mclachlan.house@state.co.us 303-866-2914
Jovan Melton jovan.melton.house@state.co.us 303-866-2919
Dafna Michaelson Jenet dafna.michaelson.jenet.house@state.co.us 303-866-2945
Patrick Neville P. patrick.neville.house@state.co.us 303-866-5523
Dan Pabon dan.pabon.house@state.co.us 303-866-2954
Brittany Pettersen brittany.pettersen.house@state.co.us 303-866-2939
Bob Rankin bob.rankin.house@state.co.us 303-866-2949
Kim Ransom kim.ransom.house@state.co.us 303-866-2933
Judy Reyher judy.reyher.house@state.co.us 303-866-2905
Dylan Roberts dylan.roberts.house@state.co.us 303-866-2923
Paul Rosenthal paulrosenthal5280@gmail.com 303-866-2910
Lori Saine lori.saine.house@state.co.us 303-866-2906
Joseph Salazar joseph.salazar.house@state.co.us 303-866-2918
Shane Sandridge shane.sandridge.house@state.co.us 303-866-2965
Lang Sias lang.sias.house@state.co.us 303-866-2962
Jonathan Singer jonathan.singer.house@state.co.us 303-866-2780
Dan Thurlow danthurlow55@gmail.com 303-866-3068
Donald Valdez donald.valdez.house@state.co.us 303-866-2916
Kevin Van Winkle kevin.vanwinkle.house@state.co.us 303-866-2936
Mike Weissman mike.weissman.house@state.co.us 303-866-2942
Yeulin Willett yeulin.willett.house@state.co.us 303-866-2583
Dave Williams D. dave.williams.house@state.co.us 303-866-5525
James Wilson representativewilson@gmail.com 303-866-2747
Faith Winter faith.winter.house@state.co.us 303-866-2843
Cole Wist cole.wist.house@state.co.us 303-866-5510
Dave Young dave.young.house@state.co.us 303-866-2929