A Message From Board Member Lesley Dahlkemper

From: Dahlkemper Lesley <ldahlkem@jeffco.k12.co.us>
To: Jill Fellman <jcfellman@yahoo.com>; Newkirk John <jnewkirk@jeffco.k12.co.us>; Williams Julie <juwillia@jeffco.k12.co.us>; Witt Ken <kewitt@jeffco.k12.co.us>; Gillis Lorie B <lgillis@jeffco.k12.co.us>; Anker Marcia L <manker@jeffco.k12.co.us>; Steve Bell <bellstevenh@msn.com>; Beck Heather R <hrbeck@jeffco.k12.co.us>
Cc: Ward Debra H <dhward@jeffco.k12.co.us>; Mikkel Kelly <mkelly@coloradocommunitymedia.com>; John Aguilar <jaguilar@denverpost.com>; ngarcia <ngarcia@chalkbeat.org>; Crystal Anderson <canderson@coloradocommunitymedia.com>; daniel <daniel@evergreenco.com>; nelson.garcia <nelson.garcia@9news.com>; Michele Patterson <mmcpatt@yahoo.com>; Shawna Fritzler <fritzlersm@aol.com>; Bill Bottoms BBottoms@TeamSAI.com

Sent: Mon, May 19, 2014 3:17 pm
Subject: Special Meeting on May 27 re: Superintendent


Hi, all –


I received notice today that a special meeting has been called for the superintendent appointment on May 27, however none of us has received a copy of the proposed contract for the superintendent. It is my hope that we will have ample time to thoroughly review the contract well in advance of the meeting. I do not want to vote on a contract without seeing it first – as was done with the board attorney’s contract.


When will board members have a contract to review prior to the May 27 meeting?


Furthermore, I strongly recommend we allow public comment at the May 27 meeting because our community has not been given an opportunity to weigh-in on the superintendent selection.


I’m also copying Jeffco PTA president Michele Patterson as well as the out-going and incoming chairs of the Strategic Planning Advisory Committee. Mr. Bottoms expressed similar concerns in his May 15 email to the board about the lack of community input and transparency regarding the superintendent finalist.


Please confirm that we will allow public comment on May 27.




Lesley Dahlkemper

Board of Education || Jeffco Public Schools